Pumpkin Chili

 While at work….working…. I accidentally fell on to this recipe!  And I LOVE pumpkin, why not in chili.  Though, there was many haters, I ground in my heals, and brought little bowls for all of them the following day.  I’m happy to say, I converted them all!  Heck YAH!
 I started it at 9:30 PM!  That’s right, you heard me, 9:30 at night in the slow cooker, waking up at 5:30 to turn it off and stick it in the fridge for supper.  HEY!  I commute to work, and can’t have the slow cooker going for 11 hours…. can I?
Pumpkin Chili
Yield: 8 servings
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 8 hours
Total Time: 8 hours 15 minute
1 pound lean ground beef
1 medium onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice
1/2 cup chili sauce
1 (15.25-ounce) can black beans, drained
1 (15.25-ounce) can mixed beans, drained
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
2 tablespoon chili powder
2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
hot sauce to taste
1. In a medium saute pan, brown the ground beef; drain. Add the onions and bell pepper and cook until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes.
2. In a slow cooker, combine the diced tomatoes, tomato juice, beans, pumpkin, chili powder, cumin, pumpkin pie spice, salt, pepper and hot sauce. Stir to combine. Add in the cooked beef and stir.
3. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4 hours. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve with your favorite chili toppings, such as cheese, sour cream, or tortilla strips.
5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chili

  1. The chili was freaking awesome! I totally thought it was something I wouldn’t like. Thanks for the bowl (and the free lunch… and the onion bun), I will be making my own pot very soon.

  2. Pingback: My Instagram Food « Berries & Bears

Leave a Reply

